No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• help: adjusted p-values in edgeR

Hi everybody,

I am relatively new to RNA-Seq and DE statistics. We have chosen to use edgeR for DE analysis and I understood most functions so far or I could answer them via searching the literature. But now I have a problem in understanding the adjustment for multiple testing.

My questions:
    1. Do I have to adjust? Are the not-adjusted p-values useless (In case I have some significant differences in DE when not-adjusted but none after adjustment)?

2. Which adjustment method is the best and why?

Thanks in advance,
    philipp

You should use the adjusted p-values. This controls for false positives that you get when making multiple comparisons.

EdgeR uses as its default the Benjamini-Hochberg procedure. This is also the default for other programs like DESeq. Other methods are more conservative. I would just stick with Benjamini-Hochberg.
    Last edited by chadn737; 03-14-2012, 05:46 AM.

Comment

Originally posted by chadn737 View Post
      You should use the adjusted p-values.
      So I can consider them as 'truly' differentially expressed?

Can I say that I do not have DE, if all not-adjusted p-values which are significant show no significance anymore after adjustment?
      Last edited by pbrand; 03-14-2012, 05:53 AM.

Comment

Originally posted by pbrand View Post
        So I can consider them as 'truly' different expressed?

Can I say that I do not have DE, if all not-adjusted p-values which are significant show no significance anymore after adjustment?
        First I should ask how many replicates you have.

Comment

because of our low budget, I have just two samples with pooled RNA of 40 specimen each.

Comment

And you are trying to find DE between these two samples? I don't think there is much you can say about differential expression without replicates.

Comment

Originally posted by chadn737 View Post