No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Run blat on multiple processor cores

Hi guys!
    I'm completely new in the NGS-community! I'm interested obviously in NGS-data analysis but still not very familiar with a series of technical issues normally encountered in this field.
    In particular, my problem now is that I have to run blat-mapping of a fasta file on the whole human genome (1 different fasta per chromosome). Since I work just only with my own machine (having 16 cores in total) I was trying to find an efficient method/strategy to split each blat job on multiple cores on the machine. Concerning this, I found and tested GNU-parallel but after one complete day of tests it does not work. does somebody know how to use that or maybe some other strategy to split every single job (I will have 1 job = 1 chromosome) on multiple cores? For me it seems a bit difficult to solve this.
    Thanks a lot in advance!!!!

How much memory do you have? Remember that blat keeps entire reference index in memory so if you start 16 parallel jobs each may need a copy in memory (in case GNU-parallel truly treats these as separate jobs, I am not familiar with that part).

When you say "it does not work" what is exactly happening? Errors?

Comment

Originally posted by GenoMax View Post
      How much memory do you have? Remember that blat keeps entire reference index in memory so if you start 16 parallel jobs each may need a copy in memory (in case GNU-parallel truly treats these as separate jobs, I am not familiar with that part).

When you say "it does not work" what is exactly happening? Errors?
      Hi, thank you fot the answer!