SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > SOLiD



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Paired End Seq papori RNA Sequencing 2 02-08-2012 03:53 AM
RNA-Seq: Single Read and Paired End mRNA-Seq Illumina Libraries from 10 Nanograms Tot Newsbot! Literature Watch 0 11-09-2011 03:10 AM
Splitting NuGen barcodes from paired-end sequences ester Bioinformatics 10 10-03-2011 10:36 AM
RNA-seq: Replicates, single-end, paired-end story pasta Bioinformatics 2 07-05-2011 12:51 AM
Library prep Solid4 paired-end BARCODES KNS General 0 08-04-2010 06:26 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2011, 01:37 AM   #1
GenomicIBK
Junior Member
 
Location: Austria

Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Default Custom barcodes AND Paired end seq readlength

1. As the primersequences for the in-gel PCR in the RNA seq protocoll are known, has anyone ever tried it with custom primers (e.g. own barcode sequences)?

2. Paired end sequencing allows me to sequence 35 bp from the other direction (P2 adaptor). From which point are these 35 bp counted? Because when you use a barcode (+ internal adaptor) and these 35 bp are counted from the P2 adaptor, you lose a lot of bp just for these two (barcode and internatl adaptor) sequences.

Thank you!
GenomicIBK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 12:38 PM   #2
pmiguel
Senior Member
 
Location: Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,297
Default

(1) No, but we had an oligo company synthesize the primers designed on ABI bar codes--which are insanely expensive when purchased from ABI. Did not seem to be any issues with them.

(2) The bar code is determined in a 3rd read. It does not consume any of the sequence read space. So you can get full 75 nt forward reads and 35 nt reverse reads (of much lower quality, last I checked.) The 10 nt bar codes are collected in another read.

--
Phillip
pmiguel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 05:50 PM   #3
SOLiDance
Member
 
Location: CAS

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 27
Default

1) Can't use custom barcodes;cause you can only select barcode Num,but not input barcode sequence when you set up a seq run on the SOLiD machine~
2) agreed with phillip
SOLiDance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 07:02 PM   #4
SeqAA
Guest
 

Posts: n/a
Default

If you can bin your own barcodes, you can make custom indexed adapters.

You would not be able to have the default software bin them for the reasons already stated.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO