SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > Illumina/Solexa



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GA II - 36 cycle kit doofus Illumina/Solexa 2 04-23-2012 09:02 PM
Allowed maximum number of differences in BWA Tefina Bioinformatics 4 05-17-2011 06:46 AM
maximum number of the reference input files for bowtie-build joseph Bioinformatics 2 09-04-2010 03:09 PM
Number of PCR How many PCR cycles to enrich adapter-modified DNA fragments MGH Man Sample Prep / Library Generation 5 07-26-2010 06:15 AM
How many cycles you can get out of the 36 cycle kit version 2? schönblick Illumina/Solexa 12 07-22-2009 05:34 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-24-2011, 09:49 AM   #1
ECO
--Site Admin--
 
Location: SF Bay Area, CA, USA

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,352
Cool Maximum number of cycles from 300-cycle MiSeq kit...

Just finished this run this morning...it was an attempt at 151x251 to determine just how many cycles are contained in the 300-cycle reagent cartridge.



After a successful 308 cycle run (2x151,1x6index), there is quite a bit of reagents left over, mainly the incorporation, scan, and cleave mixes which is all that's needed to sequence and and image.

The answer seems pretty clearly that at about cycle 360-370 (haven't looked at images yet), things fall off a cliff. So 2x175 would be pushing it but probably possible.

Next time we have a run that fails early, I'm going to overfill a new reagent cartridge to see what's possible...2x200 seems really easy. 2x250 probably stretching it but we'll see!
ECO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 07:19 AM   #2
hedas2303
Junior Member
 
Location: Uppsala

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Default Any quality scores available?

Very cool!
I wonder if you had any data on Q-scores during the run? From the Broad presentation (300bp) they ended at app 65% Q30, it would be interesting to see the drop off in your run too.
hedas2303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 02:03 PM   #3
krobison
Senior Member
 
Location: Boston area

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 747
Default

Any reason to fear this could damage the instrument?
krobison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 08:42 AM   #4
Tanya12
Junior Member
 
Location: C

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Default miseq Q-scores

Quote:
Originally Posted by hedas2303 View Post
Very cool!
I wonder if you had any data on Q-scores during the run? From the Broad presentation (300bp) they ended at app 65% Q30, it would be interesting to see the drop off in your run too.
I also really would like to know about the Q-score at cycle150 or 200.

Thanks advance.
Cheers!
Tanya
Tanya12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 09:19 AM   #5
ECO
--Site Admin--
 
Location: SF Bay Area, CA, USA

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,352
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krobison View Post
Any reason to fear this could damage the instrument?
No ill effects noticed yet.

I wouldn't let it run dry and sit overnight...as (from reading the recipe xml files) it flushes the template position with incorporation buffer several times, likely to prevent template from drying on the sipper.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanya12 View Post
I also really would like to know about the Q-score at cycle150 or 200.
I'll try to get the fastqc report up asap.
ECO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 04:04 PM   #6
ians
Member
 
Location: St. Louis, MO

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 53
Default

Have you had a chance to get a fastqc profile?
ians is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 07:21 AM   #7
ECO
--Site Admin--
 
Location: SF Bay Area, CA, USA

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,352
Default

Yes! I just have to remember to post it! Setting reminder now!
ECO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 06:18 PM   #8
ECO
--Site Admin--
 
Location: SF Bay Area, CA, USA

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,352
Default

Finally dug it out...enjoy:

http://seqanswers.com/forums/images/...qc_report.html
ECO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 08:48 PM   #9
ECO
--Site Admin--
 
Location: SF Bay Area, CA, USA

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,352
Default

By the way, this run was from 12x libraries of 768 amplicons each (250bp long)...
ECO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 12:14 AM   #10
gringer
David Eccles (gringer)
 
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 799
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ECO View Post
The answer seems pretty clearly that at about cycle 360-370 (haven't looked at images yet), things fall off a cliff. So 2x175 would be pushing it but probably possible.
About 372, perhaps? That's enough for 6 50bp runs with two barcode reads each (i.e. the newer dual-indexed Nextera barcodes).
gringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 07:49 AM   #11
ECO
--Site Admin--
 
Location: SF Bay Area, CA, USA

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,352
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gringer View Post
About 372, perhaps? That's enough for 6 50bp runs with two barcode reads each (i.e. the newer dual-indexed Nextera barcodes).
That would require hacking their RFID system...in the current form you can only use a cartridge once.
ECO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 12:29 PM   #12
Nitrogen-DNE-sulfer
Member
 
Location: In CPT code hell

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 20
Default

Any had luck hacking the RFID system?
I dont see any mention of it in the recipe XML files
Nitrogen-DNE-sulfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 07:45 PM   #13
ECO
--Site Admin--
 
Location: SF Bay Area, CA, USA

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,352
Default

Easiest way is just to break out the RFID chip (under the square "Illumina" pad on the top of the cartridge)...and when the scan fails, get a bypass code from icom.illumina.com. They are good for a week...I'm sure if you made a huge practice of this ILMN would crack down but it's easy enough for playing around.
ECO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 05:51 AM   #14
yaximik
Senior Member
 
Location: Oregon

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 204
Default

I wonder if it would be possible to reuse the flow cell, not to run completely new sequencing, but to repeat sequencing with clusters already there. Sequencing errors are generated at random, so repeated sequencing will not generate the same dataset. Or a flow cell with the good cluster density of a good library could be used to obtain longer reads. Removing just synthesized strand should not be a problem as it is done anyway in paired end runs. I am not sure about paired end chemistry though, could the cell after a paired end run sequenced in the reverse order? Certainly the current RFID system disallows this. Any thoughts?
yaximik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
miseq

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO