SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > Illumina/Solexa

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
amplicon sequencing on MiSeq nancysch Illumina/Solexa 20 03-11-2015 11:29 AM
Best/Cheap solution for amplicon barcoding on MiSeq memento Illumina/Solexa 0 09-24-2012 12:36 PM
MiSeq Amplicon: grouping indexed FASTQs by cluster JackieBadger Bioinformatics 0 06-20-2012 03:55 PM
PubMed: Amplicon-based high-throughput pooled sequencing identifies mutations in CYP7 Newsbot! Literature Watch 0 11-09-2011 11:20 AM
Create one sequence based on overlapping primer sequences in amplicon ketan_bnf Bioinformatics 2 09-15-2011 01:33 AM

Old 09-26-2012, 04:40 PM   #1
nvpatkar

Default Amplicon based sequencing on the MiSeq

Dear Users
I am an absolute newbie on NGS and wish to sequence about 25 genes on the MiSeq using an amplicon based approach for library preparation. I have some doubts and i hope that someone will help

I would like to ask some questions on targeted gene sequencing which utilizes an amplicon based approach for library preparation (about 250 amplicons).
I wish to synthesize primers from IDT or similar company. Cost is an concern so I would like to use this approach.
My question pertains to designing the primer. I understand that the design of the forward and reverse primer would include the illumina sequencing adapter (p5, p7), barcode and the actual forward or reverse target primer.
I have the adapter sequences from illumina.

My questions are as follows:

1: Do the barcodes have to be present only on both the forward and reverse primers, or just the reverse is OK?
2: What is the permissible length of the insert (given that 120bp for both the adapters, 30bp for both the target sequence primers). And with that logic what is the maximum allowable length of the entire amplicon (400bp, 450bp?) for the illumina MiSeq platform (given that max read length on MiSeq is 250bp)