SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating a mRNA GTF file from fasta for HTSeq ? CEPHSeq Bioinformatics 11 06-18-2015 09:44 AM
converting GFF to GTF efoss Bioinformatics 8 10-15-2013 05:06 AM
Tab Delimited File Editors? (GFF to GTF) DrD2009 Bioinformatics 16 11-30-2012 04:52 AM
GFF to GTF, and GTF to GRanges objects lewewoo Bioinformatics 2 04-03-2012 02:52 PM
GFF to GTF gen2prot Bioinformatics 9 12-14-2010 10:07 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2012, 12:04 AM   #1
Brown_lineage
Junior Member
 
Location: Belgium

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Default How do I go from a fasta and a chromosome to gtf/gff file?

Hi all,

I work on a single celled eukaryote whose genome has been sequenced. However the sequencing was not complete as there were several leftover scaffolds that contain more than a hunderd genes. Trying to get this information into cufflinks, I merged all these scaffolds toghether in one articial chromosomes with 4000N spacers in between scaffolds.

Alignement works great but I would like to use a GTF of this 'chromosome' with the original gene models to see if the gene models were substantially altered by cufflinks RABT. Is there a way where I could go from the FASTA files of the gene models to a GTF file for the 'new' chromosome? I could write a script but a pre-existing solution would be great as I am not a perl expert.
Brown_lineage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 12:56 AM   #2
gsgs
Senior Member
 
Location: germany

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 140
Default

I'm no Perl expert either, maybe a C-program ?

but I don't understand your language with the acronyms
gsgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 04:18 AM   #3
Brown_lineage
Junior Member
 
Location: Belgium

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Default

I know even less about C than perl so writing it in C is not an option

I just think this type of program should already exist as people doing annotation and such would also use this type of tool.
Brown_lineage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 06:03 AM   #4
gsgs
Senior Member
 
Location: germany

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 140
Default

that's probably right and I could have the program already
or could easily create it with little changes from another program
- if only I understood correctly the details
gsgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 11:10 PM   #5
Brown_lineage
Junior Member
 
Location: Belgium

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Basically I need to get the orientation, start and stop of several small sequences (genes) contained in one big sequence (chromosome). I've run a BLAT to find these things but it looks like not every gene has only one hit and it does not look so trivial to find every exon-intron boundary and combine these into a transcript.
Do you have such a program gsgs?
Brown_lineage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 02:01 AM   #6
gsgs
Senior Member
 
Location: germany

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 140
Default

no ... but I'm thinking how to write one.
I still don't know what a GTF is.
As I understand you have one big sequence and want to separate the
exons and introns in it.
You could even align it to other existing exons or introns
but it's still difficult to find the correct areas ?
Maybe because there are gaps ?

with what did you align it ?
with a known complete genome of a similar species ?

Last edited by gsgs; 12-03-2012 at 02:06 AM.
gsgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 02:13 AM   #7
Brown_lineage
Junior Member
 
Location: Belgium

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Pretty standard stuff in genome annotation. Just a fixed format to describe the position of genes on a chromosome/genome

http://www.ensembl.org/info/website/upload/gff.html
Brown_lineage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 06:03 AM   #8
gsgs
Senior Member
 
Location: germany

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 140
Default

can I just search for long substrings without stop codon ?
6 reading frames with DNA
gsgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 06:21 AM   #9
Brown_lineage
Junior Member
 
Location: Belgium

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Default

After not looking for a week I found the answer: GMAP has an option to output to GFF3 format. Just wanted to post it here in case anybody else encounters the same problem
Brown_lineage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO