SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TopHat Error: Could not find Bowtie index files /bowtie-0.12.5/indexes/. rebrendi Bioinformatics 11 06-22-2016 09:55 AM
bowtie mapping report cascoamarillo Bioinformatics 6 09-23-2011 12:53 AM
Tophat...Mapping reads against Reference with Bowtie [FAILED] Brajbio Bioinformatics 0 06-02-2010 12:33 AM
Discrepancies between PicoGreen and qPCR in GA libraries fedora Sample Prep / Library Generation 3 08-25-2009 05:52 AM
why consed finds discrepancies with masked n sequence alig Illumina/Solexa 3 06-12-2009 12:32 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-09-2011, 03:27 AM   #1
vineeth_s
Junior Member
 
Location: Germany

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9
Default tophat / bowtie mapping discrepancies

I am mapping 50 bp SOLiD RNA-Seq reads to the mouse genome.

When I use bowtie, I get ~60% mapping (I am running bowtie with -e 950 as has been suggested elsewhere for mapping SOLiD runs with bowtie)

As there was no direct way to give tophat the -e option, I changed line 872 in the tophat python script from
Code:
bowtie_header_cmd = [bowtie_path, "--sam"]
to
Code:
bowtie_header_cmd = [bowtie_path, "--sam", "-e 950"]
When I run tophat with this option, I still get very poor mapping, of about 25%

Why is there this discrepancy, as one would assume that all of the unspliced mapping that bowtie does should be reproducible by tophat ?

Vineeth
vineeth_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 08:23 AM   #2
DZhang
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast, US

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 177
Default

Hi vineeth,

Please verify with the author(s) if your way of passing "-e 950" from Tophat to Bowtie. From the Tophat manual, it has very limited options to pass parameters to Bowtie. The manual says Tophat is currently optimized for 75bp or longer SOLID reads. I am not sure what it actually means but it might have contributed to your observation.

Douglas
www.contigexpress.com
DZhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 11:45 PM   #3
vineeth_s
Junior Member
 
Location: Germany

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9
Default

That really should not be an issue as this is the pythonic way (using the subprocess module) of building a command for executing something on the command-line.
Further when I look at the run logs in the logs folder that TopHat creates, I see the bowtie command formed without issue.

What I am wondering is since TopHat works serially by first aligning to the genome, then taking the unmapped reads and trying to align it to the splice junction which is where the read length matters (so even if the 75 bp recommendation makes a huge difference) I should only see an increase in mapping as opposed to just using bowtie; what confounds me is why I see the mapping decrease when compared to just using bowtie
vineeth_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 04:44 AM   #4
DZhang
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast, US

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 177
Default

Hi Vineeth,

Conceptually you are right but I am not sure how exactly tophat implements the concept. Again, please send your request to the tophat user forum or the author for a direct answer. At the same time, you may compare the mapping rates b/t Bowtie and Tophat without the option "-e 950" to see the trend? Occasionally these logical machines do illogical things.

Douglas
www.contigexpress.com
DZhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bowtie, discrepancy, mapping, tophat

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO