No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Goseq for non-native goseq db

hi

I am new to Goseq and I am trying to implement it for a genome not present in the database. I have the list of genes and their associated GO terms. It's just that it's not clear to me how can I include this in the software .... the vignette has an explanation on the format of the data but it doesn't spcify where it should be entered.

thanks

Anna

Dear Anna,

Did you find an answer for this, if so could you share.

Thanks
    Swarbre

Comment

Hi Anna,
      I rather suggest you to have a look at goseq manual
      http://www.bioconductor.org/packages.../man/goseq.pdf

under the goseq function details

Comment

error in goseq() gene2cat invalid

Hi,
        I was using goseq to test on a non model species, when I was using goseq function, the gene2cat is given by manual input. For this, I gave a list in which the key is the gene name and the value is an array containing several go ids (because it doesn't work, I also tried category descriptions). However, an error occurred and saying that Error in goseq() Invaled category specified. Valid categories are GO:CC, GO:BP, GO:MF or KEGG.
        I wonder what exactly I should input the gene2cat.
        IF you happen to know the answer, I appreciate your reply a lot.
        Thanks.
        AliceRNA

Comment

Hi AliceRNA,

I suspect your error is not the GO descriptions but the test.cats argument. If you can't solve it maybe you should post your command.

Comment

bad nullp plots for pwf

Hi Oshlack,
            Thanks for your reply, I really appreciate it. I finally fixed the error, it is because when using the goseq function, the first argument is actually results from pwf, not genes. If this is corrected from the manual, then this error is gone.