SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Applications Forums > Sample Prep / Library Generation



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PippinPrep for TruSeq small RNA library selection visserm Sample Prep / Library Generation 3 09-26-2013 09:36 AM
Truseq RNA library has 2 peak on bioanalyzer houda Sample Prep / Library Generation 7 07-06-2011 11:39 AM
Small RNA sequencing library: Help! Very Strange PCR products MarineMan Illumina/Solexa 1 12-23-2010 05:31 AM
ChIPseq: Strange Peaks after Gel Extraction cmawhinney General 1 12-13-2010 05:25 AM
ChIPseq: Strange Peaks after Gel Extraction cmawhinney Sample Prep / Library Generation 3 12-10-2010 09:23 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-06-2011, 06:48 AM   #1
TonyBrooks
Senior Member
 
Location: London

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 298
Default Strange peaks in TruSeq RNA library

Hi all
I've run these TruSeq RNA libraries I received on the Bioanalyser HS Kit and they appear to be have strange peaks, almost as if there was a ladder contamination (although the peaks don't correlate with the HS ladder sizes). I've run these samples twice now, preparing fresh gel-dye and using a new tube of marker, but I get the same traces.
Has anyone got any explanations?
Attached Files
File Type: pdf TruSeq RNA.pdf (28.2 KB, 357 views)
TonyBrooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 08:57 AM   #2
pmiguel
Senior Member
 
Location: Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,297
Default

Hi Tony,
Just a guess, but:
(1) A MW ladder, as you mention as a possibility, was somehow introduced at some point.

(2) It could be highly expressed transcripts in your sample. They might not be visible in the original total RNA QC because the

(3) Horror of horrors, the TruSeq kit includes some crazy control fragments that are supposed to help you trouble shoot/QC your libraries down stream. I would as soon jab a pippeter in my eye as add extraneous DNA to samples during library construction. But it is part of the standard TruSeq protocol...

Here are their sizes according to the "Illumina Adapter Sequence Letter" you can request from your Illumina FAS:

CTE2 - 150bp
CTE2 - 250bp
CTE2 - 350bp
CTE2 - 450bp
CTE2 - 550bp
CTE2 - 650bp
CTE2 - 750bp
CTE2 - 850bp
CTE1 - 123bp
CTE1 - 223bp
CTE1 - 323bp
CTE1 - 423bp
CTE1 - 523bp
CTE1 - 623bp
CTE1 - 723bp
CTE1 - 823bp
CTA - 150bp
CTA - 250bp
CTA - 350bp
CTA - 450bp
CTA - 550bp
CTA - 650bp
CTA - 750bp
CTA - 850bp
CTL - 150bp
CTL - 250bp
CTL - 350bp
CTL - 450bp
CTL - 550bp
CTL - 650bp
CTL - 750bp
CTL - 850bp

Then, I guess, there would be adapter ligated on to some/all of them? The universal strand is 58 nt and the index strand is 63. After enrichment PCR (if any) the frags would be 121 bp longer?

That would give you these size frags:

244
271
344
371
444
471
544
571
644
671
744
771
844
871
944
971

Some of those might explain some of your extra peaks. The 128 bp and 3109 bp peaks do not seem to fit that hypothesis though. 128 is probably an adapter dimer, though. Maybe a concatamer of some of the control frags?

--
Phillip
pmiguel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 09:03 AM   #3
bruce01
Senior Member
 
Location: .

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 157
Default

Could be from the Ampure beads remaining in solution? I tend to leave the plate on the magnetic stand for a few minutes more than in the manual (7 vs. 5 minutes). Also check pipet tip carefully to see if any beads remain. Can be hard to take supernatant without taking up some beads. Also are you seeing this in all libraries?

By the way are you doing the standard PCR enrichment (all 15 cycles)? Not seeing the ubiquitous 'bump' ~600-2000bp, wondering why.
bruce01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 07:54 AM   #4
josdegraaf
Member
 
Location: Germany

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 33
Default

any updates on this? we started to see something similar..
josdegraaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 08:36 AM   #5
ETHANol
Senior Member
 
Location: Western Australia

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmiguel View Post
I would as soon jab a pippeter in my eye as add extraneous DNA to samples during library construction. But it is part of the standard TruSeq protocol...
ha ha.

Totally agree. Was trying to explain to a student collaborator why we were leaving out the 'in-line controls'. He didn't like my first answer so I came back with 'because it's the stupidest #$%@@$ idea I've ever heard of'.

Anyway, agree my guess would be too much of the in-line controls were added.
__________________
--------------
Ethan
ETHANol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 03:24 AM   #6
victorsor
Member
 
Location: Madrid

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 13
Default

We saw the same peaks but a very lower extent in some Truseq DNA libraries. Sequencing of this libraries confirmed that those peaks are truseq controls. After that, we never use again controls.
victorsor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO