No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Setting up Linux for SOAP de novo

Hey all,

I'm new to WGS and need some help getting my computer set up.

From a clean install of Ubuntu 14.04 x64, what packages are necessary

to install to be able to install and run SOAP de novo2?

Insofar I have gotten g++ from the build-essentials, but I haven't been able to

successfully install SOAP.

I have no idea what I am doing, so any advice would be awesome

Thanks,

Sam Zorn

Are you trying to compile it from source and getting errors or are you just trying the provided binaries and they aren’t working?

If you’re trying to compile it, I’d suggest you try the binaries first.

Oh link: http://sourceforge.net/projects/soap...ovo2/bin/r240/

Comment

I've been trying to compile it from source, I'll see if the binaries work out better

Thanks

Comment

There is a pre-compiled binary available for linux, so you likely don't need to compile the source code. Here is the download link for the binary distribution:

Code:
        $ cd ~/Downloads
        $ wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/soapdenovo2/files/SOAPdenovo2/bin/r240/SOAPdenovo2-bin-LINUX-generic-r240.tgz
        $ tar -xvzf SOAPdenovo2-bin-LINUX-generic-r240.tgz
        If you have admin (sudo) privileges and you want to install the program for all users on the machine, then I would do something like this:

Code:
        $ sudo cp SOAPdenovo2-bin-LINUX-generic-r240/SOAPdenovo* /usr/local/bin
        If you don't have admin rights, then make bin directory in your home directory and run it from there:

Code:
        $ mkdir ~/bin
        $ cp SOAPdenovo2-bin-LINUX-generic-r240/SOAPdenovo* ~/bin/
        There are instructions for configuring the program in the file called 'MANUAL' inside the uncompressed SOAPdenovo2-bin-LINUX-generic-r240 directory.

Comment

Hi,