Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SRA -> FastQ, Problem with SRA toolkit?

Hello everyone!

I saw several other posts about this toolkit, but it seems most people ran into problems later on instead of during set up like I did.

I downloaded several .SRA data files from NCBI. I would like to convert them into .FastQ files, and then analyze them in Galaxy.

I downloaded the SRAtoolkit, and opened Command Prompt. However, when I try to change the directory to the folder where I extracted the tool kit ( cd C:\myname\Downloads\sratoolkit.2.3.2-5-win64\sratoolkit.2.3.2-5-win64\ ) I receive the following error: "The system cannot find the path specified."

What am I doing wrong? I have been trying everything I can think of for the past 2 hours. This is my first time doing anything like this and I'm sure I'm making a really simple mistake...

Thank you!
    Kelsey

This is an obvious question but I will ask. sratoolkit is only supported on 64-bit windows. Are you using some flavor of 64-bit windows(XP/7/8)?

Comment

Originally posted by GenoMax View Post
      This is an obvious question but I will ask. sratoolkit is only supported on 64-bit windows. Are you using some flavor of 64-bit windows(XP/7/8)?
      Thank you for your prompt response! I am on Windows 7, 64-bit Operating System.

Comment

Are you able to see the sratoolkit directory at the c:\myname\Downloads level via command prompt?

Comment

I typed dir c:\myname\downloads and I see it there.

Comment

You need to unzip the file first.

Comment

That file is still zipped.

You will have to unzip the file. Once you double click on the zip file there should be an "Extract all files" option at the top of the windows explorer window. Follow those prompts.

Comment

That file is still zipped.