SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > 454 Pyrosequencing



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tophat help: how to maximize CPU performance lewewoo Bioinformatics 3 10-19-2011 05:09 PM
Advice for setting up a cpu cluster Kennels General 4 10-14-2011 12:43 AM
3.4GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7 versus 3.1GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5 brachysclereid Bioinformatics 2 05-03-2011 05:31 PM
Memory Usage in Newbler 2.3 smg283 454 Pyrosequencing 5 11-09-2010 07:46 AM
Computer Hardware: CPU vs. Memory DZhang Bioinformatics 16 09-22-2010 04:52 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-11-2010, 10:03 AM   #1
malatorr
Junior Member
 
Location: santiago, chile

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Unhappy newbler cpu core usage

Hi, I'm trying to run newbler in ubuntu server (8 cores, 8G ram) and can make it use more than one core.

I have mpich installed. And I've tried with:

export GS_LAUNCH_MODE=MULTI
export GS_CACHEDIR=/data

and:

export GS_LAUNCH_MODE=GSRPM
export GS_CACHEDIR=/data

I also tried run it using mpirun newbler project. It runs but only using one core...

I set 4 cores in the assembly XML file. So frustrating because I can not find good documentation about this issue.


malatorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 01:17 PM   #2
kmcarr
Senior Member
 
Location: USA, Midwest

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,169
Default

The environment variables you are playing with are for the gsRunProcesser, they have nothing to do with newbler (now officially called gsAssembler). Only the latest version of gsAssembler (2.3) is able to utilize multiple CPUs. While earlier versions of the assembler wrote a <numCPU> tag to the 454AssemblyProject.xml file, I suspect it was just anticipating future functionality. gsAssembler can use multiple cpus/cores on a single machine, not across a cluster so MPI is irrelevant.
kmcarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 04:59 AM   #3
malatorr
Junior Member
 
Location: santiago, chile

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks, now I see. I will get gsAssembler 2.3

PS: They were anticipating the new functionallity too early...Documantation shows that cpu number parameter is working.
malatorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
454, core, cpu, newbler, usage

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO