SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > 454 Pyrosequencing



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The best genome de novo assembly software using hybrid data (Illumina, 454 & Sanger)? Godevil De novo discovery 36 08-01-2012 02:25 AM
Fungal refseq & data analysis nguyendofx Bioinformatics 7 02-29-2012 05:06 AM
454 data analysis & Mapping Abishai3911 Bioinformatics 3 07-03-2011 02:27 AM
Join DNASTAR at PAG 2011: Fast Eukaryotic Genome Assembly & Analysis on a Desktop DNASTAR Events / Conferences 0 01-10-2011 11:45 AM
In Sequence: With GenomeStudio, Illumina Adds Analysis Software Tools for Its Genome Newsbot! Illumina/Solexa 0 10-21-2008 12:15 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2010, 06:40 PM   #1
Xterra
Member
 
Location: London

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 27
Default Genome Sequencer Data Analysis software & CygWin

Is it possible to install and run the Genome Sequencer Data Analysis software using CygWin?
Xterra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 01:44 AM   #2
nickloman
Senior Member
 
Location: Birmingham, UK

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 356
Default

The Roche offInstrument apps you mean? I wouldn't have thought so, as Cygwin compatibility relies on recompiling the software, and the Roche stuff is closed-source.

Have you thought about running Linux under VirtualBox or VMware on your Windows box/
nickloman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 06:57 AM   #3
Xterra
Member
 
Location: London

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 27
Default Analysis only

Yes, only for analysis. Is there any reason why it would not compile in CygWin? I am familiar with cygwin but not with VirtualBox or VMware. I was hoping someone has already tried to compile the softare in CygWin.
Xterra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 07:01 AM   #4
nickloman
Senior Member
 
Location: Birmingham, UK

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 356
Default

As I say, the Roche software is closed-source, so there is no source to compile.

VMware etc just lets you run a Linux (or whatever) desktop on your Windows machine, so you can execute binary code.
nickloman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 07:08 AM   #5
Xterra
Member
 
Location: London

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 27
Default Sorry

I misread your post. I will try VMware.
Thanks!
Xterra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 01:47 PM   #6
Xterra
Member
 
Location: London

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 27
Default How about Fedora?

Will the GS software work with Fedora?
Xterra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO