No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• input files for IMAGE

Hi everybody,

I'm currently working on the assembly of two bacterial genome sequences from an illumina GAIIx sequencer. I have made a de novo assembly of the 50bp paired end reads with velvet and now would like to try to close some gaps with IMAGE.

In the very short description of IMAGE i found the following necessary input files:
    a contigs.fa.original file in FASTA format.
    a read.placed.original file containing a list of contigs within supercontigs.
    Paired end Illumina fastq files (should be unzipped)

From Velvet I got the contigs.fa file and I have Paired end fastq files, but from which program will I get a read.placed.original file? Or did I miss some options for velvet?

I'm still quite new in the field of bioinformatics and not used to use linux, so could you please explain everything very simple

Thanks,
    Maegwin

You need to write a simple script with perl to produce a read.placed.original file in the format that comes with the example file.

Comment

Ok, so actually I never wrote a script, so how to do this?
      I will check on some Online-Tutorials on how to write a Pearl Script.

Comment

Originally posted by KanyeDidIt View Post
        You need to write a simple script with perl to produce a read.placed.original file in the format that comes with the example file.
        I don't know the corresponding between contigs and scaffold contigs. how do I write script? what is the input of this script?

Comment

Originally posted by gridbird View Post
          I don't know the corresponding between contigs and scaffold contigs. how do I write script? what is the input of this script?
          If the contigs are in Pcap format its kind of easy to indentify the contig - scaffold relationship.