Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie:Use of kit for library prep.Why can I just amplify using index,adaptor seq.?

Hi there, I am very new in the sequencing world and I am gathering the needed info to start the firs sequencing project of 16S amplicons with MiSeq in our lab.
    My question is regarding the library prep. I don´t understand why there is the need to use kits like Nextera or Truseq to attach the index or adaptors needed for pooling and sequencing with the illumina platforms, if those sequences are available. Could I just make those as primers and perform a PCR? without the need of the kit? if so, what is the point of using the kit?

I have an illumina manual were they sequence 16S amplicons and use the nextera kit and perform 2 PCR reaction. Why does it has to be done in 2 PCR reaction, instead of just 1? is it because of the Tm of the primer would be not adequate?

I am sure these are very simple questions! but I haven´t been able to find satisfying answers. I hope someone can shed some light into my querys.
    Thank you in advance
    Last edited by Ayaka; 05-07-2014, 04:53 PM. Reason: I added one more query

Yes, you can certainly synthesise your own primers if you want to do that. The kit is really only for convenience. Illumina will recommend it becase 1) that's what Illumina used when they tested the procedure and 2) they want you to buy their reagents.

You can make your own oligos and use your own PCR reagents if you wish. We use our own PCR reagents but we use the Illumina adapters, because we already have them in our lab (we use them with the rest of the Nextera XT kit when preparing genomic DNA libraries).

Comment