SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



View Poll Results: What operating system do you use for analysis?
Linux 32-bit 5 7.81%
Linux 64-bit 49 76.56%
Unix variant 0 0%
Windows XP 3 4.69%
Windows 7 (32-bit) 1 1.56%
Windows 7 (64-bit) 2 3.13%
Mac OS X (Intel) 16 25.00%
Mac OS X (PowerPC) 3 4.69%
Cloud based 1 1.56%
Other (Please mention) 2 3.13%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 64. You may not vote on this poll

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux system requirements for NGS analysis programs RBGSYD General 6 10-18-2011 11:26 PM
Tools Optimized for Operating System Environments grlazo Bioinformatics 4 01-05-2011 07:15 AM
PubMed: A multidimensional electrophoretic system of separation for the analysis of g Newsbot! Literature Watch 0 05-09-2010 07:00 PM
standard operating procedure 454 analysis neoanderson 454 Pyrosequencing 1 04-15-2010 03:00 AM
System requirements linux comp. for off-machine assembly/analysis rjsb 454 Pyrosequencing 7 04-21-2009 07:35 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-31-2010, 12:43 AM   #1
john_mu
Member
 
Location: Stanford, CA

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 88
Question What Operating System Do You Use For Analysis?

I'm interested to know what operating systems people here use. This will help me and others decided what platforms to focus testing on.
__________________
SpliceMap: De novo detection of splice junctions from RNA-seq
Download SpliceMap Comment here
john_mu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 02:47 AM   #2
Bruins
Member
 
Location: Groningen

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 78
Default

I'd also be interested to know what distro the Linux users use. This may help as well. Perhaps maintainers or others could also add why they use this particular distro?

I run my analysis on an Ubuntu server, Jaunty. I just use the available server, so I can't say anything useful about why it runs Jaunty.
Bruins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 04:18 AM   #3
raela
Member
 
Location: Ithaca, NY

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 39
Default

The workstation I use currently runs Slackware64.-13.0, but it will be upgraded to 13.1 sometime soon. I chose Slackware due to my own familiarity with it, plus support is readily available. I've had people in the Slackware community help me get things working, even if they didn't know much of the tools themselves.
raela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 07:56 PM   #4
john_mu
Member
 
Location: Stanford, CA

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 88
Default

Wow, I'm surprised there are so many Macs... good thing the new SpliceMap supports OS X. I'll make a post about that later.
__________________
SpliceMap: De novo detection of splice junctions from RNA-seq
Download SpliceMap Comment here
john_mu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 07:35 AM   #5
marcora
Member
 
Location: Pasadena, CA USA

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 52
Default

Ubuntu 10.04 (Lucid) 64bit
marcora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 12:39 PM   #6
drio
Senior Member
 
Location: 4117'49"N / 24'42"E

Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 323
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by john_mu View Post
Wow, I'm surprised there are so many Macs... good thing the new SpliceMap supports OS X. I'll make a post about that later.
I think most of the people that uses mac, they use them for the initial coding and prototyping, idea testing and then they through the real deal to a HPC cluster, typically linux based.
__________________
-drd
drio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 02:00 AM   #7
maubp
Peter (Biopython etc)
 
Location: Dundee, Scotland, UK

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drio View Post
I think most of the people that uses mac, they use them for the initial coding and prototyping, idea testing and then they through the real deal to a HPC cluster, typically linux based.
Or work on smaller organisms like viruses or bacteria where you don't need so much RAM.
maubp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 02:24 AM   #8
robertorun
Member
 
Location: wuhan,China

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 22
Default

Fedora7-64bit, it's a little out of time!
robertorun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO