Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Installation of Burrows-Wheeler Alignment Tool (bwa) on Mac

Hi I am new to the bioinformatic field. I just want to know how I could install the bwa in my iMac after i download the bwa-0.6.1.tar.bz2 file. I know that i should do that using the terminal window but I am not sure how to do it. Any help?
    Last edited by MMPE; 12-05-2011, 03:12 AM.

You need to have Xcode from Apple installed (can be found on the AppStore). Extract the bwa archive and cd into it from the terminal. Then simply type `make' to compile and copy the resulting executable `bwa' anywhere you want (I would put it under /usr/local/bin - e.g sudo mv bwa /usr/local/bin).

Comment

Take a look at this thread (http://seqanswers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4589). Shameless plug as it is my own but it should help get you going. Sadly bwa will be just the start...

Comment

Hi
        About bwa and Mac.....I am trying to install bwa on Mac, after upgrading to Lion (I already downloaded the xcode 4 and added the relevant library to PATH). After trying 'make' I get the following message:

"gcc -c -g -Wall -O2 -DHAVE_PTHREAD QSufSort.c -o QSufSort.o
        QSufSort.c:32:19: error: stdio.h: No such file or directory
        QSufSort.c:33:20: error: stdlib.h: No such file or directory
        In file included from QSufSort.c:34:
        /Developer/usr/bin/../lib/gcc/i686-apple-darwin10/4.2.1/include/limits.h:10:25: error: limits.h: No such file or directory
        make: *** [QSufSort.o] Error 1"

I have no idea what that error means and how to fix it.....any suggestions please?
        Yu

Comment

Unfortunately Apple no longer packages the gcc compiler as part of the Xcode4 package that works with Mac OS Lion. To get around this issue you can install MacPorts and the gcc4.2 compiler package.

Another option is in this thread: