X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello from Dundee! (Scotland!)

Hi,

My name is Dan Bolser, and I recently started a Post Doc. in Dundee working on the potato genome sequencing project. Although this is a really exciting and far reaching project, I should say that I am very new to the field of sequencing!

I have a degree in biochemistry, and subsequently I did a masters, PhD and Post Doc. in structural bioinformatics and interactomics. So, although I have studied 'DNA' and molecular genetics during my degree, its all a bit hazy these days ;-)

The first 'bulk' of sequencing data that we have here in the UK / Ireland consortium (Chromosome 4) has been generated from several 'interesting' BACs using "capillary based Big Dye chemistries" (ABI 3730 DNA Analyzers). There are a few things that I am keen to learn more about. (I'll ask similar questions in the other appropriate forums, but I may as well list the main issues that I am facing as a beginner.)

1) What is "capillary based Big Dye chemistries" (ABI 3730 DNA Analyzers)? ;-)

OK, its not that bad, I do have the broad idea, but where can I find out more? What books should I be reading? Which websites have the best information? How does this kind of sequencing compare to NextGen sequencing in terms of speed, throughput, cost, coverage, de-novo 'assemble-ability', etc?

2) What kinds of questions should I be asking of the sequence data? So far I just have a bunch of chromatogram files (ABI format) broken down into groups by BAC. I think I need to know (or it would be useful to know) the following basic things about the data:

* sub-cloning (sequencing) vector sequence
    * cloning vector sequence
    * insert size
    * BAC size

What else should I be asking (before starting the assembly)?

3) What kind of assembly pipelines are routinely used on this kind of data?