No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fastx-tool kit_setting the prarameter

Hii
    I am new to this. So can any one please suggest me how to set the parameter in fastx-tool kit regardgin the follwing criteria ....selection of the reads will be based upon Q20 value where min read length will be >100bp at a strech..if its find low quality reads at the 5'/3' end it will simply trim those portion and will take the rest of the read.... i tried
    $fastq_quality_filter -q 20 and then
    $fastx_clipper -a 0 -l 100 (-a 0; as the sequences are already clipped for the adapter as well as barcodes)
    it is something like, i want trim the reads based on their quality value..is it possible with Fastx-tool kit at all??

Thanx for any help in advance

Regards

I don't think fastx can do that. You may try trimmomatic? Or some other options here:

Comment

i have used Trimmomatics with the following parameter...

$java -classpath path/Trimmomatic-0.32/trimmomatic-0.32.jar org.usadellab.trimmomatic.TrimmomaticSE -phred33 input.fastq output.fastq SLIDINGWINDOW:100:20 MINLEN:100

it seems all ok..but at this point i want to be sure that does this processed the reads as i wanted..selection of the reads will be based upon Q20 value where min read length will be >100bp at a strech and this sliding window of 100 will make sure that if a read contain bases with lower qualities at both the end, it will simply trim those bases and keep the rest part of the read if its more than 100bp..does the parameters did the same thing?? am confused..any suggesition would be much appreciated........
      Last edited by chayan; 01-16-2014, 06:33 AM.

Comment

For trimming low quality bases from the 5' end or the 3' end of the read, trimmomatic also has the commands LEADING or TRAILING, respectively.

Read the trimmomatic web page.