Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Multiple DGE libraries comparison. (EdgeR baySeq DESeq)

Hi, I'm an undergratuated student in msc Biostatistics in France, and I'm stuck with DGE data.

I'd like to compare multiple DGE librairies without replicates. I got 4 librairies that describe 4 different conditions (Young Males/Females , Old Males/Females) and I'd like to know the top diffentially expressed tags between all Males vs all Females. But I can't find a solution because performing all possible pair-wise tests in several libraries is statistically invalid and would lead to an unacceptable
    accumulation of false positives.

I've searched through the litterature without success so far and the 3 packages I'm using don't seem to treat this kind of comparison.

I would appreciate any form of help (litterature, idea, R packages...)

Thank you

Hi Roman

the simple solution is as follows: Consider the samples from the two male subjects as replicates, and the two female ones likewise, and go ahead using DESeq or edgeR.

You may now say: But an old man is no proper replicate for a young man. However, remember that the point of replicates is not to have two samples which are as similar as possible.

Rather, you have many experimental conditions, some of them you vary on purpose (here: sex of the subject) and some which you cannot control, either because you have to work with the samples that you got (here: age) or because you don't know them at all (here: medical history, race, accidental differences in preprocessing of samples).