SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Introductions

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bacterial RNA-Seq Differential Gene Expression Biological Reps vs Exp Conditions beki.renberg RNA Sequencing 7 11-24-2015 10:32 AM
DESeq NB test for samples without biological replicates jason_ARGONAUTE Bioinformatics 1 11-06-2013 01:38 AM
Statistical treatment of biological reps from pooled samples danwiththeplan RNA Sequencing 7 10-23-2013 09:28 PM
Is methylation data gathered from bisulfite sequencing noisy between biological reps? rghan Epigenetics 1 03-18-2013 07:09 AM
DESeq without biological replicates (dataset: Marioni et al.) Andrea Apolloni Bioinformatics 3 01-13-2012 05:58 AM

Old 09-09-2016, 12:27 PM   #1
sulfatereducers

Default Uneven number of biological reps on DESeq

Hello.
I am relatively new to RNASeq. I just finished a PCA analysis on my libraries and on of my treatments is clustering with the controls. Worst case scenario I decide I cannot use that library for my analysis, which leaves me comparing 3 vs 2 libraries. I just want to confirm/hear comments on how valid this is. Any rationale for either response?
sulfatereducers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2016, 02:00 AM   #2
MatthewHaas

Default Uneven number of biological reps on DEseq.

You should have at least three replicates for each sample. I had something similar happen to me with the Genomics Center sequencing one of my samples twice and one sample not at all...In any case, I ultimately re-submitted the missing sample. The PCA plots and differential expression results did not change in any meaningful way. Best of luck.
MatthewHaas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 01:58 PM   #3
gringer
David Eccles (gringer)

I'd suggest looking for contamination in that sample (e.g. using BLAST to find out what the most abundant read maps to).