Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to run blastn against my data (and compare to ncbi nt library)?

I am new to blast and using bioinformatics tools on the command line. I recently have cleaned the data I was given (groomed, filtered, trimmed, and converted into fasta). I have read the documentation of ncbi and the commandline quick guide, but still have questions.

I have the following two requirements given me by my boss for blastn:
    • E-value has to be smaller than 10E-100 for a hit to be reporte
    • Use the whole NCBI nt as my database that I blast against (it would be good if I could filter out tick sequences, if possible)

I have the following questions:
    • What parameter allows me to choose 10E-100 or smaller to be significant?
    • How can I reference the whole NCBI nt db?
    • How can I filter out certain tick sequences?
    • I have about 63 fasta files I need to blast, I think. Do I run this in parallel or is there a way I can define a directory as the input with blastn?

Here is my current skeleton I have written for the blastn command, but I am stuck:

Code:
    /homes/hlyates/ncbi-blast-2.2.28+/bin ./blastn -db ? -query ~/scripts/Sample_Index2/Sample1.fasta
    I deeply appreciate any comments or assistance that could be rendered.

Command line option tables: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK279675/

BTW: If this was NGS data why are you using BLAST when you should be using a real NGS aligner?
    Last edited by GenoMax; 04-04-2015, 08:33 AM.

Comment

Get all "nt*" files from: ftp://ftp.ncbi.nih.gov/blast/db/. Un-compress them and leave in the same directory.

-db /path_to_directory/nt
      does a search against the entire "nt" db.
      -evalue put_your_limit_value_here
      Will give you results with e-values better than your limit.