No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First time with Velvet

Hi,

Im new to seqanswers and bioinformatics and need a little help with Velvet. I keep getting large blocks of Ns in my PE assembly. The Ns go away when I do an assembly with just the single reads.

workfow;

~30 million PE 100bp reads
    lowest average sanger quality score is 34

filter using fastx-tool kit - remove reads < 20bp in length, <30 quality over 90% of the read

also had to remove reads that failed the illumina chastity filter

remove non-PE reads after filtering and join into one file
    now have ~20 million reads

velveth 31 -shortPaired
    found average ins_length using velvetg: 240, sdev = 50

experimenting with parameters, I found the two genomes of interest to have coverages of 500 and 75.

I have been able to find 4-5 contigs per genome that cover nearly the entire length. The problem is that the contigs contain large blocks of Ns. For example

one assembly has 3120 contigs > 500bp in length, but there are 11634 blocks of Ns with average length of 41

in the 4 contigs that cover one of the genomes, there are 86 blocks of Ns that average 56bp in length.

How to I get rid of these Ns?

Thanks,

JT

This is a result of Velvet scaffolding contigs using paired-end information. Set "-scaffolding" to "no" if you don't want it to do that.

Comment

okay, thanks.

when scaffolding is off, I dont get large contigs. I guess I'll have to try changing parameters again.

Comment

I would also look at changing your kmer value. For 100bp reads, I use a kmer value of 57..31 seems more suited to 50bp reads.

Comment

You can tune the exp_cov e cov_cutoff parameter. You can plot the stats file in velvet output on R and check the best values for these parameters.

Comment

thanks for the helpful suggestions, i really appreciate it.

I tried kmer size 57

then tried keeping everything set to auto