Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Publicly available FASTA Database ?

Hi I'm very new to Bioinformatics, and I'm working on DNA sequencing using some of algorithms like BWA, BFAST etc.

My question is; Is there a public source that I can download FASTA database file for using it as a reference sequence ?
    or
    Is there someone here who can help me access to a FASTA database file ?

Thanks in Advance...

You can find fasta formatted sequence files at -

NCBI: ftp://ftp.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/blast/db/FASTA/
    UCSC: ftp://hgdownload.cse.ucsc.edu/goldenPath/

You will need to traverse down the right directory for the genome that you are interested in with UCSC link.

NCBI has the files grouped based on the blast databases.

Comment

Originally posted by GenoMax View Post
      You can find fasta formatted sequence files at -

NCBI: ftp://ftp.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/blast/db/FASTA/
      UCSC: ftp://hgdownload.cse.ucsc.edu/goldenPath/

You will need to traverse down the right directory for the genome that you are interested in with UCSC link.

NCBI has the files grouped based on the blast databases.
      Thank you for your reply..

I checked and download the human_genomic file and extract it. but the file inside it is not a file with the fasta or fa extension.

Do I need to do any additional thing to transform it to a fasta file ?
      and there is md5 file for each database. What do we do with these md5 files ?

Comment

I don't recall exactly where things are on the NCBI server, but have you looked here on the UCSC server? I'm pretty sure those would be hg19 reference sequence fasta files.

The md5 files probably the checksum of the associated file so you can ensure that the fasta (or whatever format) file isn't corrupted. You can read the wikipedia article on md5 for more details.

Comment

I've downloaded the fasta files and unzip them.