SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help installing QUAST(quality assessment tool for genome assemblies) akjones Bioinformatics 3 05-28-2016 04:49 AM
QUAST GFF files for genes pari_89 Bioinformatics 1 07-15-2013 05:28 PM
ArXiv: Optimal Assembly for High Throughput Shotgun Sequencing krobison De novo discovery 0 01-03-2013 08:43 AM
choosing & validating RNA-Seq time course data normalization method(s) anandksrao Bioinformatics 6 10-20-2012 10:50 AM

Old 09-03-2015, 06:47 PM   #1
richelleredekop

Default Choosing Optimal Assembly from Quast Data

Hello Everyone,

I am very new at next generation sequencing and have a question about choosing which assembly is the best to use going forward. My samples are isolates of Helicobacter pylori that I have sent for whole genome sequencing. I have paired end Illumina reads and used Trimmomatic to process them and FastQC to make sure everything appeared acceptable. I then tried deNovo assembly of the forward and reverse paired reads using Velvet, Abyss and SPAdes. I then took the contig files produced from these 3 assembly methods and ran them through Quast to evaluate which assembly worked the best. I have attached links to the alignment produced and the summary file.

Alignment:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B1G...ew?usp=sharing

Summary File

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B1G...ew?usp=sharing

Abyss and Spades had similar output, with SPAde perhaps being marginally better based on # contigs, largest contig, and N50. Velvet was quite different from Abyss and SPAde and had much fewer misassemblies (6 vs 35 for AByss and 31 for SPAdes). I am not sure what would account for this large difference.