SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Applications Forums > RNA Sequencing



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
scRNAseq 10x Genomic design chelbi RNA Sequencing 0 04-19-2017 04:46 AM
10x genomics ans spike-in RNAs Rashmi007 RNA Sequencing 1 04-09-2017 06:37 PM
10X Genomics - no tech support? luc General 4 03-01-2016 12:44 PM
genome sequencing 10x Mr.Zurich1992 De novo discovery 0 02-27-2016 04:31 AM
Is 10x coverage suitable for resequecing 1Gb genome using 454? fusu 454 Pyrosequencing 7 03-07-2009 10:02 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-15-2017, 06:41 AM   #1
mitsaki
Junior Member
 
Location: Netherlands

Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Default 10x genomics

Hi everyone,

I am kind of new to rna seq and mostly to 10x genomics. I got some data from a 10x genomics and in contrast to Hiseq/Nextseq etc, I have 4 types of files.

I have R1,R2,R3 and I1 files. I am a bit confused about what is what. So R1 has reads of 114 length so it should be my sequence. The R2 files have sequences of 14bp (is that the 10x barcode ?)
R3 contain sequences of 10 bp (UMI ?) and I1 should be sample barcodes

Could someone help me clear this out ?
mitsaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 06:52 AM   #2
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,435
Default

You would find it pretty hard to work with these files in a standalone manner (I am not sure why you have an R3 file). I assume this is single cell RNAseq data? You should ask your sequence provider to process this data with 10x Cellranger software (unless you are willing and capable of installing/running this software yourself). You can find information about CellRanger here.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 07:17 AM   #3
mitsaki
Junior Member
 
Location: Netherlands

Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Thank you for your reply. Yes it is RNAseq data. The R3 file is the one that mostly confuses me too. We are the sequence provider and we have cell ranger. But we want to run some tests for a specific experiment standalone

So, I thought that I could treat R1 as single end and run star. It seems to work but the rest of the files made me confused, because I do not actually use them
mitsaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 12:24 PM   #4
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,435
Default

How was this run set up (on sequencer)? It looks like the UMI's were treated like a separate read and must have ended up in one of the files.

I assume you used the mkfastq protocol to generate the files? What was the --use-bases-mask used? And the <RunInfo> section from RunInfo.xml?

Last edited by GenoMax; 06-15-2017 at 12:30 PM.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 01:35 PM   #5
nucacidhunter
Senior Member
 
Location: Iran

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,031
Default

Your explanation of files is correct and the data set must be for v1 chemistry which is obsolute. If you are planning runs and want to evaluate the performance or check your software set up you should download data for v2 chemistry which has different library structure and sequencing configuration.
nucacidhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO