No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• de novo assembly with MIRA and 454 single-end reads. Too much contigs

Hi everybody!
    I'm new in NGS data processing and also in this great community.

I have two sets of reads 454 single-end from Roche GS junior, the source organism is a yeast with an expected genome size of 12 Mb. i need to assembly this reads and finally obtain a draft of the genome. The problem is that i am getting too many contigs

I extracted the reads from the sff files using the script sff_extract and i got 211981 reads of 40-630 bp with an average lenght of ~500 bp. i made the quality control by trimming ends using a threshold quality value of 35 and discarding all reads shorter than 100 bp. Finally i got 180585 reads of 100-469 bp (the sequence lenght distribution is pretty irregular).

Then, i tried to do a denovo assembly with MIRA. like a first view, i ran

mira --job=denovo,genome,accurate,454 --project=yeast 454_SETTINGS -LR:ft=fastq -LR:fqqo=33

and i got:

Avg. total coverage: 35.45

Large contigs:
    ============
    Number of contigs: 17
    Total consensus: 58823
    Largest contig: 9561
    N50 contig size: 6322
    N90 contig size: 1575
    N95 contig size: 1281

All contigs:
    ============
    Number of contigs: 10941
    Total consensus: 6832983
    Largest contig: 9561
    N50 contig size: 724
    N90 contig size: 357
    N95 contig size: 301

Like there were too many contigs, i manipulate several parameters of MIRA to obtain better results. In general all looks like: if i sacrifice coverage, i got more "total consensus", but still a lot of contigs.

here is one of the better assemblies i got:

mira --job=denovo,genome,accurate,454 --project=yeast 454_SETTINGS -LR:ft=fastq -SKr=60 -AL:mrs=60 -AS:mrpc=10

Avg. total coverage: 18.45

Large contigs:
    =============
    Number of contigs: 655
    Total consensus: 665610
    Largest contig: 8794
    N50 contig size: 1043
    N90 contig size: 572