Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Plasmid in gDNA - Will it influence my sequencing quality?

Hello everyone,

like my name says I'm a noob in sequencing and want to sequence 5 presumably E. Coli genomes. My whole setup is the following:

- gDNA extraction: Quiagen DNeasy Blood & Tissue
    - Sequencing platform: Illumina MiSeq
    - Library preparation kit: Illumina TruSeq
    - Shearing: Covaris S2
    - Quality Control: Bioanalyzer, Qubit, PicoGreen ...

I extracted my DNA and run it on a gel and found that 4 samples had an additional 2 bands running at 1000 and 1300bp. I assume that those bacteria contain a plasmid and the two bands are the plasmid in normal and supercoiled form.

My fear is that the sheared plasmid DNA might be the dominant species in my sequencing run and I end up with a poor read covarge on my genome.

Is this a problem and If yes is there any way I can fix it?

I searched the forum for a similar thread but didn't find one. So if there is an existing one just tell me and close this thread!

Thank you

Hi!,
    Did you grow your E.coli in the presence of an antibiotic and select for plasmid containing cells? How do you know what you are seeing is plasmid? Can it be partially digested RNA? If it's plasmid DNA, yes you will sequence it. If it's as much as your gDNA, you should expect that half of the reads would be plasmid reads?

You can also gel purify your genomic DNA and make a library. You can digest agarose by β-Agarase. I have not tried it myself buy one of my colleague do it all the time for genomic DNA extraction from agarose. NEB has a library prep that allows you to make libraries as little as 1-5 ng input DNA. It's called "NEBNext Ultra DNA Library Prep Kit for Illumina". By the way, I believe Qubit dye cannot bind supercoiled DNA and you need to linearize it. Hope this helps.
    Last edited by rnaeye; 04-25-2014, 07:22 PM. Reason: additional information

Comment