SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hello - I use to think I was good with a computer Jon_Keats Introductions 83 08-26-2015 04:16 PM
Computer hardware mplace General 2 07-19-2013 04:44 PM
HP Z400 computer issues? suefo 454 Pyrosequencing 0 09-22-2011 05:21 AM
Computer hardware requirements Najim Bioinformatics 25 04-30-2010 04:46 PM
Which Computer to Buy? polsum Bioinformatics 7 08-04-2009 09:48 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-26-2013, 07:10 AM   #1
trad
Junior Member
 
Location: CAnada

Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Default Help with computer for metagenomics

Hi all,

just starting my post doc this coming spring, and have some money to get a computer.

I will be working largely with 16s sequences (QIIME and the like) and although we have access to a supercomputer centre, I will be working remotely at times and having a computer to do some heavy lifting would be helpful.

The central debate is whether I should splurge for a 15" quad core (2.3gHz) macbook pro (16gb ram), or get a dual core 2.6 gHz (16Gb ram). Will the extra cores be particularly helpful for my workflow?

Thanks!
trad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 07:23 AM   #2
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,077
Default

If you have reliable access to a supercomputer then buying a beefy machine is not strictly necessary

Unless you are going to be in a location that will not have internet access (and thus access to your supercomputer account).

If you really want to get that Macbook Pro ... we won't say anything.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 01:44 PM   #3
jimmybee
Senior Member
 
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 119
Default

Completely depends on the size of your datasets.

In my opinion, if you have a sizeable cluster to connect to, a desktop is going to be a complete waste of money. I haven't used a desktop computer for about 6 years and I haven't felt a hindrance (using massive datasets both online and off). In fact the most annoying part of that 6 years was the short period of 6 months spent using a desktop computer at my previous work :P
jimmybee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 06:52 AM   #4
westerman
Rick Westerman
 
Location: Purdue University, Indiana, USA

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,104
Default

It does depend on how 'remote' your work will be. My at-home internet is a 3G wireless phone (i.e., no high speed internet for me!). Using this I control and do useful work on our super-computers all of the time. If by 'remote' you mean absolutely zero internet connectivity then, yes, I suppose you'll need a beefy laptop. But if you even have the most modest internet then you can and should use your supercomputers.
westerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO