SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > Illumina/Solexa



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A first look at Illumina’s new NextSeq 500 AllSeq Vendor Forum 108 07-09-2018 03:23 AM
Available for Sale: HiSeq X Five, NextSeq 500 kcacdna Illumina/Solexa 3 02-09-2018 08:47 AM
Low diversity on Nextseq 500 MisUser Illumina/Solexa 9 09-03-2017 03:14 PM
Nextseq 500 base calling Paulfrobbins Illumina/Solexa 2 03-29-2015 07:38 PM
A heads up for all NextSeq 500 users! LizD Illumina/Solexa 10 02-08-2015 09:59 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-21-2018, 08:11 AM   #1
cmccabe
Senior Member
 
Location: chicago

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 351
Default microserver direct connect to nextseq 500

Is it possible to tether/direct connect via cat 6 to the nextseq500? The idea would be to run bcl2fastq on the server. The sequencing data would transfer to the run folder onboard the instrument then AI would mount that folder to the server. Thank you .
cmccabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 11:07 AM   #2
hoytpr
Member
 
Location: Stillwater

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 53
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmccabe View Post
Is it possible to tether/direct connect via cat 6 to the nextseq500? The idea would be to run bcl2fastq on the server. The sequencing data would transfer to the run folder onboard the instrument then AI would mount that folder to the server. Thank you .
Hi cmccabe, I know this is a late reply, but cat9 is pretty much how any Nextseq500 is hooked up if you aren't using BaseSpace. Our server was set up with an Windows VM and them mapped as a drive to the NextSeq Windows operating system. We couldn't find a good pure Linux option (if that's what you're asking).
hoytpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2018, 05:35 AM   #3
sklages
Senior Member
 
Location: Berlin, DE

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 623
Default

Why would I want to access the machine itself? We connected a very fast fileserver running linux and a samba... This server i mapped on the NextSeq. BCL conversion grabs the data from the file server .. You could also run bcl conversion directly on this server.
sklages is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nextseq

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO