SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CLC Genomics Workbench - Windows vs. Linux figure002 Bioinformatics 24 12-06-2013 07:10 AM
Linux or Windows for 454 assembly of bacterial genomes? mbseq Bioinformatics 3 11-24-2012 05:01 AM
RTG Investigator 2.2.1: Now supports Mac OS X along with Linux, Windows Stuart Inglis Vendor Forum 0 08-03-2011 04:23 PM
File Conversion / Usage with Windows and linux Wiseone General 6 01-02-2011 04:23 AM
Need help running Mosaik on Linux as well as windows. ketan_bnf Bioinformatics 0 11-22-2010 02:13 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-06-2018, 07:23 AM   #1
ctseto
Member
 
Location: SE MN

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 44
Default Windows Subsystem for Linux

New job, desk includes a workstation with windows10. I've got WSL running for silly things like small qiime jobs, but wondering if anyone else is doing anything with WSL asides from replacing PuTTy as their client for SSHing into cluster?
ctseto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 08:02 AM   #2
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,814
Default

AFAIK, as long as you have enough memory everything that works on a normal ubuntu machine should work on WSL as well (assuming you installed ubuntu).
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 02:48 AM   #3
Moro
Junior Member
 
Location: Italy

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Default

At the moment I didn't install Linux on my laptop. I work only with WSL.

You can do almost everything, the only problem is the I/O speed, which is tragically slower in WSL compared to a "traditional" Linux installation.
Moro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 01:28 PM   #4
Cistron
Junior Member
 
Location: UK

Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctseto View Post
New job, desk includes a workstation with windows10. I've got WSL running for silly things like small qiime jobs, but wondering if anyone else is doing anything with WSL asides from replacing PuTTy as their client for SSHing into cluster?
How did you get QIIME working? Is it version 1 or 2?
Cistron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 08:33 AM   #5
ctseto
Member
 
Location: SE MN

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cistron View Post
How did you get QIIME working? Is it version 1 or 2?
In WSL, apt-get install qiime is QIIME 1.9.0
I installed miniconda, then used the linux tutorial from the qiime2.org page.
You need Xming on your Win10 machine and a reasonably new version of Win10 (1803?). You'll want to use firefox on ubuntu. I think you need ubuntu-desktop and/or xubuntu-desktop; I'll have to find time for clean installs.

I got moving pictures to work with qiime view using ubuntu firefox, and it's a bit slow.

I may look into containers for fun, but...
ctseto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 09:54 AM   #6
Cistron
Junior Member
 
Location: UK

Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctseto View Post
In WSL, apt-get install qiime is QIIME 1.9.0
I installed miniconda, then used the linux tutorial from the qiime2.org page.
You need Xming on your Win10 machine and a reasonably new version of Win10 (1803?). You'll want to use firefox on ubuntu. I think you need ubuntu-desktop and/or xubuntu-desktop; I'll have to find time for clean installs.

I got moving pictures to work with qiime view using ubuntu firefox, and it's a bit slow.

I may look into containers for fun, but...
huh! I had no idea there was an actual debian package for QIIME available. I tried the conda install route, but USEARCH keeps throwing a core dump error when I test the installation.

Ok. I can only find version 1.8 through apt-search, but maybe that will do. Going through the installation now. Let's see how it goes.
Cistron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2018, 07:27 AM   #7
colindaven
Senior Member
 
Location: Germany

Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 402
Default

Putty is a bit lame these days.

Does mobaxterm work on it ?

https://mobaxterm.mobatek.net/
colindaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO