No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• correlation in amplification RNAseq

Hi all,
    I am trying to find correlation between biological replicates and between different conditions.
    After aligned to genome and converting to counts i have counts matrix.

I am new to statistical tests so it might sound silly.
    i tried to use pearson and spearman and the correlation wasnt so high..
    Between biological replicates ~0.6 and so between conditions..
    i was expecting to get higher correlation between biological rather than conditions and i am getting the same..

The experiment was amplification from small amount of RNA.. so i have samples with 0 to some genes.
    So, i tried to remove those 0, but i didnt change much the results..
    Do anyone have any advice?
    Did someone experience with correlation in amplification ?

Thanks,
    Pap

At first glance you should plot the data against each other. Which means that, for instance let's assume you got one dataset (A) and one biological replicate (B) , you plot the expression value of A against the value of B. In best case, when correlation is 1 you should get a straight line through your coordinate system. For sure their will be some bias through amplification but in my opinion it shouldn't count that much (at least in bio-replicates). Comparing conditions might rise results like 0.6 correlation if the conditions are more or less totally different!

Comment

I am trying to find correlation between two biological replicates RNA-seq runs.
      I ran Tophat and Cufflinks, extracted the FPKM values and plotted these values against each other and find correlation using R.

Code:
      library(car)
      reg1<-lm(FPKM_1~FPKM_2)
      cor(FPKM_1,FPKM_2)
      The correlation I found was .2 which is disappointing given that these are replicates. Have anyone else tried other ways to find correlation between replicates and found a good correlation?

Comment