SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > Illumina/Solexa



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CDNA synthesis from FFPE: best kit/enzyme? BerlindaV Sample Prep / Library Generation 0 08-12-2014 09:45 AM
Fungal ITS amplicon sequencing (NexteraXT vs TruSeq Custom Amplicon) chapadosj Metagenomics 0 06-07-2013 08:59 AM
cDNA prep for Illumina using the Nextera kit fgoetz Sample Prep / Library Generation 3 07-09-2012 07:34 PM
Miltenyi Biotec cDNA synthesis kit Metz Sample Prep / Library Generation 0 06-21-2011 05:05 AM
PubMed: A novel single cDNA amplicon pyrosequencing method for high-throughput, cost- Newsbot! Literature Watch 0 07-24-2010 03:00 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-18-2017, 09:41 AM   #1
kerryp
Member
 
Location: Scotland

Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 16
Default NexteraXT kit on cDNA amplicon?

Can I use the Nextera XT library prep kit on a 2kb cDNA amplicon? Just wanting to check that the tagmentation process will work ok on cDNA. I've only ever used it on gDNA for WGS.
Thanks in advance!
kerryp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 01:16 PM   #2
nucacidhunter
Senior Member
 
Location: Iran

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,074
Default

Yes, currently Smart-Seq, Drop-Seq, Fludigm single cell RNA-Seq, Illumina Bio-Rad single cell and some other techniques use Nextera to prep libraries from cDNA.
nucacidhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 01:48 AM   #3
kerryp
Member
 
Location: Scotland

Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 16
Default

Thanks nucacidhunter. Do you think I could prep a 2kb amplicon (amplified from cDNA) using Nextera XT? Basically treating it like gDNA?
I usually run WGS with Nextera XT and MiSeq v2 reagent kit, but I've been asked to sequence a bunch of 2kb viral cDNA amplicons. Just wondering if I could use Nextera XT, or if a different prep kit would be needed.
kerryp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 03:55 AM   #4
nucacidhunter
Senior Member
 
Location: Iran

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,074
Default

Generally tagmentation will work with any dsDNA. Two points to note:
1- Some sequences from both 3' and 5' end will not be sequenced because transposon requires some region to engage with DNA. It is around 30 bases.

2- Transposon have some bias which in whole genome does not make much difference but if the amplicon lacks the preference sites (it is not very restrict) some region might not get good coverage.
nucacidhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 06:09 AM   #5
kerryp
Member
 
Location: Scotland

Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 16
Default

Thanks - that's really helpful. I expect Illumina don't communicate precisely what their transposon sites are?
I suppose it'd just be a case of prepping a couple of amplicons to see how it goes.
Sorry to test your patience, but does tagmentation also work on eukaryotic DNA? You say it'll generally work with any dsDNA, but just checking.
Thanks again!
kerryp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 11:33 AM   #6
nucacidhunter
Senior Member
 
Location: Iran

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,074
Default

I am not sure if Nextera preference site has been studied in details. It just was a precautionary note and in most experiments it does not affect final results.

Nextera works on eukaryotic DNA as well.
nucacidhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amplicon, cdna, nextera xt tagmentation

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO