SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > Illumina/Solexa



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Miseq v2- Low cluster density, Low PF%, what should we do? Joanna Illumina/Solexa 22 08-30-2017 12:30 PM
MiSeq run with low Q30 and high cluster PF haroldnunez Illumina/Solexa 12 01-06-2017 07:34 AM
Newbie question: low cluster density on MiSeq (Chip-Seq pool) HelenaSC Sample Prep / Library Generation 12 07-18-2013 08:28 AM
MiSeq v2 cluster density 1/2? pmiguel Illumina/Solexa 37 03-05-2013 04:33 AM
Low cluster density of Truseq "high throughput" libraries - both DNA and RNA SLeigh-Brown Illumina/Solexa 0 01-07-2013 04:19 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-17-2017, 06:24 PM   #1
setramis
Junior Member
 
Location: Perú

Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3
Default Illumina MiSeq High cluster density, but low %PF problem

Hello everyone.

Please, I need a help with my MiSeq genome sequencing run. I am sequencing M. tuberculosis genomes using Nextera XT and a 500 cycles v2 cartridge/flow cell. I always obtained aproximately 950-1050 K/mm2 and a passing filter more than 85%; However, in my last run I obtained 1063k/mm2 (i think it is ok), BUT JUST 50,3% %PF... sincerely, I dont have any idea what happened. I know with overclustering there will be a lower %PF, but in think is not my case. I s the first time i have this issue.

Thank in advance for your answers.
setramis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 09:18 PM   #2
finswimmer
Member
 
Location: Europe

Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 36
Default

Hello,

take a look at the cluster pictures. If you overcluster to much, the MiSeq cannot detect all clusters correctly and reports a much smaller number.

fin swimmer
finswimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 04:11 AM   #3
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,548
Default

1000K/mm2 is outside limit per sepc for V2 chemistry. While it is tempting to push cluster density (trying to get additional data) the fall in data yield/quality is precipitous when you go over a certain density (like you discovered). You would want to carefully look at the data you have to make sure there are no artifacts.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 02:11 PM   #4
provirus
Junior Member
 
Location: Denmark

Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 6
Default

Have a look at your intensities of the first 25 cycles (e.g. in the sequence analysis viewer) (which might not only be a problem for amplicon sequencing). Below a quote from a Illumina white paper:

The %PF calculations involve the application of a chastity filter to
each cluster. Chastity is defined as the ratio of the brightest base
intensity divided by the sum of the brightest and second brightest
base intensities. Clusters “pass filter” if no more than 1 base call has
a chastity value below 0.6 in the first 25 cycles.
provirus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2017, 05:02 PM   #5
setramis
Junior Member
 
Location: Perú

Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for your answers ... I read all of it., I got surprised because at two previous runs the last year I got a cluster denstiy of 1200 and 1100k / mm2 aproximately (definetly an overclustering) but the passing filter was approx 80%. Then I recalculated my steps and I corrected that. But now, I think I did not get it too much (just 1069K/mm2), and the passing filter fell too much.

Now I am suspecting for the machine, MISeq. Because other people used to have the same, even worse, results with passing filter fell until 15%.

Now I taked a look for my intensities at the first 25 cycles (like "provirus" recomendation) and I notice some extrange: first, definetly i got overclustering; second, the "T" base shows a marked overclustering (see picture), and thats the same result for all the run. could there be a particular reason for such behavior?



For now, given the picture intensities Will it decrease my input DNA from 20 ul to 18 ul?

Thanks for your answers and time.
setramis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2017, 03:48 PM   #6
setramis
Junior Member
 
Location: Perú

Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3
Default

whats i hapennig... all my replies never come out
setramis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2017, 04:31 PM   #7
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,548
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by setramis View Post
whats i hapennig... all my replies never come out
It looks like your replies were caught in the moderation queue. I just approved them.

It appears that you did not attach any images though (if you thought you had). You can edit your post and attach them.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
miseq, passing filter, problem

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO