SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > Ion Torrent



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PGM reads m4merg Ion Torrent 0 08-05-2014 05:39 AM
FFPE DNA for PGM JTCoastal Ion Torrent 6 05-27-2014 09:41 PM
Why choose the PGM and not MiSeq? docsascha Ion Torrent 6 12-12-2013 09:29 AM
PGM flows aahardikar RNA Sequencing 0 11-14-2012 06:53 PM
Enrichment and PGM for cancer kant1_IC General 0 01-09-2012 01:35 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2017, 08:12 AM   #1
pfeifferr
Junior Member
 
Location: utica ny, 13501, usa

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
Default Any way to use PGM chips without barcode on a chef/PGM?

Hello,

I had been using the Ion Torrent PGM with Ion 316 and Ion 318 chips and prepping libraries on the OT2. However, I now have an Ion CHEF, which i found out cannot use my supply of sequencing chips that don't have the barcode on them.

Lifetech will not take them back or trade them towards barcoded chips. I cannot find any option to add a barcode to the chips, like a sticker or anything. Does anybody know a way around this?

If not, I will have many boxes (4 packs) of Ion 316 and Ion 318 chips that i will sell at a large discount since they will no longer work for me. Would also do some sort of trade for barcoded 318 chips if this is an option.

Thanks in advance.
pfeifferr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 09:06 AM   #2
r.rosati
Member
 
Location: Brazil

Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 42
Default

Hi,
the information on the chip barcode is nothing much; lot number and chip type, I think. Why do you say that adding a sticker is not an option?
[Edit: it appears that the barcodes are individual]

Last edited by r.rosati; 11-16-2017 at 04:38 AM.
r.rosati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 09:11 AM   #3
pfeifferr
Junior Member
 
Location: utica ny, 13501, usa

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
Default

I inquired with lifetech, both through the sales rep, technical support, and service engineers. All of them told me that their are no stickers available that will go on the chip that will work. The chef reads the barcode throughout the run, and then you need to scan it in on the PGM when running.

Do you know of a solution for this? Have you had any experiences like this?

Thanks
pfeifferr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 09:23 AM   #4
r.rosati
Member
 
Location: Brazil

Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 42
Default

What I mean is that the chips are apparently labeled in batch. If you can attach a sticker with the right information on it, and I mean information taken from a real 318 chip (not the one image that's on the website), I don't think the Chef will complain that all your chips have the same code. (Unfortunately we only ever used 314 and 316 chips.)
r.rosati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 09:41 AM   #5
r.rosati
Member
 
Location: Brazil

Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 42
Default

...I gave you a very unorthodox answer, didn't I? If you're working with diagnostics, I understand that you can't alter the chips. I'm afraid I don't have a solution then.
If you work on research though, the barcode itself is technically the only difference with the old v2 chips, AFAIK, and a v2 chip with a tag attached should perform just as well as a GS1 datamatrix-labeled chip.

Last edited by r.rosati; 11-14-2017 at 09:43 AM.
r.rosati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 01:45 PM   #6
pfeifferr
Junior Member
 
Location: utica ny, 13501, usa

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Unfortunately, the chef uses the codes for tracking, and they must be unique. It will not let you accidentally re-load a previously used chip because it will recognize the barcode as used
pfeifferr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 04:36 AM   #7
r.rosati
Member
 
Location: Brazil

Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 42
Default

I see. Getting them right would take some experimenting.
r.rosati is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO