SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tophat, --mate-inner-dist and variable length reads dawe Bioinformatics 2 01-20-2012 05:47 AM
how --mate-inner-dist and --mate-std-dev affect the tophat mapping result liuxq Bioinformatics 0 11-06-2011 09:53 PM
tophat -r mate inner distance option ssseq Bioinformatics 2 01-10-2011 06:15 AM
Cufflinks with the -G option gen2prot Bioinformatics 0 12-23-2010 09:42 AM
How does inner distances(--mate-inner-dist and --mate-std-dev) work in tophat? Gangcai Bioinformatics 4 06-15-2010 06:53 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-22-2010, 04:16 PM   #1
combiochem
Member
 
Location: Los Angeles

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 11
Default Tophat and cufflinks mate-inner-dist option

I'd like to run two programs for the paired-end reads.
The question is that if the mate-inner-dist is less than 0, can I put the number which is less that 0?

For example, when the RNA fragment size in the library is around 140bp and the read length is 75bp, theoretically, mate-inner-dist is going to be "-10" (75*2-140).
In this case, do I have to put the "-10" or simply "0"?
combiochem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 05:37 PM   #2
wenhuang
Member
 
Location: Raleigh, NC

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 30
Default

I had the same question before and it was answered by Cole Trapnell in this thread:
http://seqanswers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4355

basically you can specify a negative integer. My results tell me that they were correctly mapped.

Quote:
Originally Posted by combiochem View Post
I'd like to run two programs for the paired-end reads.
The question is that if the mate-inner-dist is less than 0, can I put the number which is less that 0?

For example, when the RNA fragment size in the library is around 140bp and the read length is 75bp, theoretically, mate-inner-dist is going to be "-10" (75*2-140).
In this case, do I have to put the "-10" or simply "0"?
wenhuang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 06:02 PM   #3
combiochem
Member
 
Location: Los Angeles

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks for the comments and the the other post. It helps.
combiochem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO