No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• scaffolds without paired end?

hello all,
    i have data from solid, and from 454, unfortunately both of them are single end.
    is it possible to create scaffolds with single end contigs??

anyone?
    I have read some articles about short read assembly, and i noticed that after the first assembly step, they All use mate pair or pair end reads to make scaffolds or superconyigs. Anyone knows if its possible without pair end reads?

Comment

Hi John,

it is impossible to make scaffolds from contigs using single read sequences. You need paired-end or mate pair data for this.

See these threads;
      Discussion of next-gen sequencing related bioinformatics: resources, algorithms, open source efforts, etc

and
      Discussion of next-gen sequencing related bioinformatics: resources, algorithms, open source efforts, etc

Hope this helps,
      Boetsie

Comment

thanks for the info,

i'm a software engineer student, and for my final project i need to assemble from solid and 454 reads a whole genome, after using few assembly software like velvet and newbler, my biggest contig was 160kb in size.

no matter what other software i try to use, and i tried alot, i cant make any bigger contigs.

so you saying its impossible to make a whole genome from the data i have(which is not paired end)??

Comment

Strictly it's not assembly, but if you have a closely related reference genome you can try to map your contigs to that (BLAST?) to gain extra information. The GenomeGraphs package in R can be useful for visulalising mapped contigs.

160 kb isn't too bad for many (especially repeat rich) genomes. I hope your supervisors aren't expecting a finished genome as that's not realistic.

Comment

Problem with single read sequences is that they can't handle repeats since it is impossible to know where the repeat should be placed.