SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > Illumina/Solexa



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
low 260/230 ratio for RNA-seq sample yuzhang Sample Prep / Library Generation 3 09-27-2012 12:20 PM
PE sequencing of a lib with ONE end high and the other low complexity ein_io Illumina/Solexa 4 12-01-2011 05:54 PM
PubMed: Direct mutation analysis by high-throughput sequencing: From germline to low- Newsbot! Literature Watch 0 10-23-2011 02:40 AM
Has Anyone stopped a HiSeq run due to low intensity clusters? ashchin Illumina/Solexa 10 01-25-2011 03:03 PM
Low Molecular Weight sample and primer dimers jsandler 454 Pyrosequencing 1 08-26-2009 01:27 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-21-2012, 11:51 AM   #1
BBthekid007
Junior Member
 
Location: Nashville

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 7
Default Alternating High/Low intensity of sample, but not PhiX

I have a pretty strange problem that I haven't seen discussed here before. I made an amplicon library using the multiplexed primers described on these forums and have begun a single-lane HiSeq run. The resulting amplicons are about 260 bases in length. The run is still in progress (PE-100), but the results from the first read are very weird. The first position of the first read has virtually no sample intensity, although the spiked PhiX shows up nicely. This continues for a position or two, followed by very high intensity from the sample (and the PhiX). The alternating sample intensity continues throughout the first read, but the spiked PhiX stays consistent. The other lanes on the run seem to be fine. What's wrong with my sample?

PS: I'm not doing the sequencing myself (the university core lab is doing it).

-Bryan

Last edited by BBthekid007; 02-21-2012 at 01:04 PM.
BBthekid007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 03:55 AM   #2
Rocketknight
Member
 
Location: Ireland

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 83
Default

When you say very high intensity from the sample and the PhiX, does that mean the PhiX intensity also goes up on that cycle? Or just that it remains at the same high level it was at initially?
Rocketknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 06:36 AM   #3
HESmith
Senior Member
 
Location: Washington DC

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 304
Default

Do you mean the intensities of all four bases fluctuate by cycle, or are you looking at only a single base (I think A is shown by default)?
HESmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.