SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blast database creation : Error kalyankpy Bioinformatics 11 02-10-2014 09:30 AM
BLAST+ creating custom blast database and using blast+ filtering features deniz Bioinformatics 2 10-26-2012 11:04 AM
Help with Blast and nr database Avila Bioinformatics 1 05-16-2012 04:05 AM
BLAST database error - when changing to new BLAST+ local program biobio Bioinformatics 4 06-15-2011 05:20 AM
Database of BLAST CarlElit Bioinformatics 1 01-04-2010 06:23 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-08-2012, 06:08 AM   #1
nupurgupta
Member
 
Location: New Jersey

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 29
Default BLAST+ database error

There are posts on topics similar to this - but none that exactly address this issue

I have installed BLAST+ on my Linux machine along with a local copy of the microbial database. "blastn" works fine with queries like

blastn -query query.txt -db 16SMicrobial
However, blastp fails e.g.

blastp -query query_protein.txt -db 16SMicrobial
gives

BLAST Database error: No alias or index file found for protein database [16SMicrobial] in search path [..../databases]

My database directory has these files-

16SMicrobial.nhr 16SMicrobial.nnd 16SMicrobial.nog 16SMicrobial.nsi 16SMicrobial.nin 16SMicrobial.nni 16SMicrobial.nsd 16SMicrobial.nsq

My .ncbirc file has

[NCBI]
DATA=.../databases

[BLAST]
BLASTDB=.../databases

Any idea of what could be wrong please?
nupurgupta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 06:42 AM   #2
maubp
Peter (Biopython etc)
 
Location: Dundee, Scotland, UK

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,365
Default

You have a nucleotide database, 16SMicrobial - the clue is the file names are 16SMicrobial.n*

If you are using BLASTP, that is for protein vs protein, and needs a protein database.

If you want to compare your protein file against a nucleotide database, use BLASTX.

Note that you can have both a nucleotide database and a protein database with the same name (e.g. my_database.n* and my_database.p* would both be called my_database).
maubp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 06:46 AM   #3
nupurgupta
Member
 
Location: New Jersey

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 29
Default

Thank you so much! I just figured it out. But where do I get a protein database from? I'm assuming 16SMicrobial.pal and the like?
Thanks so much
nupurgupta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 06:53 AM   #4
maubp
Peter (Biopython etc)
 
Location: Dundee, Scotland, UK

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,365
Default

In general you can download several nucleotide and protein databases from the NCBI, or make your own from a FASTA file using the makeblastdb command.

In this specific case, it doesn't make biological sense to talk about a protein database for 16S ribosomal RNA sequences, does it?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/16S_ribosomal_RNA
maubp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 06:58 AM   #5
nupurgupta
Member
 
Location: New Jersey

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 29
Default

Thank you sooo much. Well, I do need to identify the genes in certain parts of the bacterial genomes, so I will go find a fasta file!
Thanks again
nupurgupta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 07:06 AM   #6
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,760
Default

ftp://ftp.jgi-psf.org/pub/IMG/

http://img.jgi.doe.gov/cgi-bin/w/main.cgi

Quote:
Originally Posted by nupurgupta View Post
Thank you sooo much. Well, I do need to identify the genes in certain parts of the bacterial genomes, so I will go find a fasta file!
Thanks again
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 08:01 AM   #7
pag
Member
 
Location: CA, USA

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 72
Default

If all you're working with is 16S sequences, as mentioned above, you don't want to do protein-based queries.

One database for 16S data is the ribosomal database project: http://rdp.cme.msu.edu/

If you want to use more than just 16S data, why not use the NCBI blast? Are you trying to do automatic annotation based on sequence homology? e.g. this sequence is 80% identical to a sodium channel, so it's probably a sodium channel?
pag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 08:16 AM   #8
nupurgupta
Member
 
Location: New Jersey

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 29
Default

OK...no I need to do it against the microbial database. I need to run BLAST on my local machine from the command line. Setting up an automation pipeline. Unfortunately I have proxy issues connecting to the outside , so I need to use a local install of a microbial database. Trying to hunt one down now...(or at least a fasta file)

Thanks soo much!
nupurgupta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
blast+

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.