Bowtie vs Bowtie2 beajorrin Genomic Resequencing 1 12-09-2013 06:14 PM
bowtie2 -a nachocab Bioinformatics 3 12-05-2012 03:59 PM
Tophat with bowtie2 abh Genomic Resequencing 3 11-30-2012 09:06 AM
Is bowtie2 really this unstable? kgulukota Bioinformatics 5 02-22-2012 08:27 AM
Bowtie2 and 2 GB limit mscholz Bioinformatics 1 01-03-2012 01:08 PM

Old 02-06-2013, 11:48 AM   #1
whp09

Default Bowtie2 installation

So, I am a complete beginner to both sequencing and linux (and thus the terminal as well.) I have been beating myself up for hours attempting to install bowtie2, and I know there is a simple answer right in front of my face.

Using 'sudo apt-get install bowtie' installs bowtie1, and replacing it with bowtie2 will not install because it says the program doesn't exist.

If I download the linuxx64_84 version of bowtie2-2.0.6, I can use the terminal to change the directory to the bowtie2-2.0.6 folder (after unzipping it) but then I am lost. I have heard to try to use ./configure and make.

./configure tells me - configure: command not found

make tells me- ***No targets specified or no makefiles found. Stop.

Any help would be much appreciated!
whp09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 12:04 PM   #2
GenoMax

Looks like you will need to apt-get the "build-essential" package.
That should get you the stuff needed to configure/compile/make programs.

http://packages.debian.org/sid/build-essential
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 05:07 PM   #3
whp09

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenoMax View Post
Looks like you will need to apt-get the "build-essential" package.
That should get you the stuff needed to configure/compile/make programs.

http://packages.debian.org/sid/build-essential
I tried this:

billy@ubuntu:~$ sudo apt-get install build-essential
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
build-essential is already the newest version.

So does that mean that I already have this?