SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what can be done with micro rna seq from SOLiD of an organism with no ref? KevinLam Bioinformatics 0 06-02-2010 08:45 PM
BFAST and read error correction (with SAET or similar tool) javijevi Bioinformatics 4 01-27-2010 01:46 PM
Size of the reference sequence for SAET javijevi Bioinformatics 0 01-19-2010 04:50 AM
SOCS: Efficient mapping of Applied Biosystems SOLiD sequence data to a ref genome... ECO Literature Watch 0 10-20-2008 08:53 PM
Accuracy of SOLiD platform dgmacarthur SOLiD 14 09-11-2008 03:07 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-22-2009, 01:19 AM   #1
KevinLam
Senior Member
 
Location: SEA

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 197
Default SOLiD Accuracy Enhancement Tool (SAET) multicore and ref genome size questions

Just dl SAET to try

one of the options jumped out at me

refLength – expected length of the assembled sequence, e.g., 4600000 for E.Coli
4.6Mb genome.


it is not explained in detail how this info is used and what happens if you are dealing with a new organism or mixed transcriptome sample/ environmental sample? Do we just throw in a value?

another question is how to I use > 4 cores using PBS to use multi threads?
KevinLam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 01:37 AM   #2
Rao
Member
 
Location: India

Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 36
Default

based on genome size... i think it decides k-mer size that used for error correction
Rao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 11:19 AM   #3
javijevi
Member
 
Location: Spain

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 38
Default refLength parameter

Maybe does it (also) use the refLength parameter for calculating the estimated frequency cutoff of trusted seeds in the spectrum construction step?

I think it is a very crucial data with a very strong influence in the quality of the results, and its use should be further clarified...

Does any developer can help?
javijevi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 02:33 AM   #4
kevleb
Member
 
Location: Sophia-Antipolis

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Does anybody have an idea about the interest to run saet tool concerning smallRNA sequencing ?
If yes what could be the "expected length of the assembled sequence" ?
For human sample it could be :
- 70.000 for mirs
- 8.000.000 for human ncRNAs
- 110.000.000 for refseq human mRNAs
- 2.900.000.000 for whole genome
kevleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 11:28 AM   #5
westerman
Rick Westerman
 
Location: Purdue University, Indiana, USA

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,104
Default

An interesting question for which I have no answer. Since I have been wondering this myself let us hope that someone can answer. The entire SAET modification is a black-box mystery to me.
westerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 07:12 PM   #6
KevinLam
Senior Member
 
Location: SEA

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 197
Default

I think ABI finally bothered to release more information.
Basically it works like Softgenetics condensation tool.

it finds reads that have a single mismatch with all the similar reads and based on that it corrects the basecalls.

I leave it up to you to decide if this is a good thing
KevinLam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 08:53 AM   #7
westerman
Rick Westerman
 
Location: Purdue University, Indiana, USA

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,104
Default

Since a single mismatch can only be a sequencing error then, in theory, correcting the error is a Good Thing. In practice I find that running SAET can take a long time. My last SAET took 100 CPU hours (about 12 hours wall time) but before that I ran a SAET that was heading off into multiple days of wall time. I eventually broke down the read file into two parts and ran SAET on each part. But that weakens the algorithm.

I would almost rather have the mapping part of the algorithm deal with single mismatch errors via throwing away the reads or doing as good of a mapping as it can. I might take my current project (a full plate, F3/R3 pairs so lots of data) and process it both with and without SAET to see if makes any difference.

My field specialist recommends running SAET only on small genomes (e.g., bacterial).
westerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 02:08 AM   #8
schmima
Member
 
Location: Zürich

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 56
Default

'expected length of the assembled sequence'

Maybe I'm wrong, but I understand it like this:
Assume you would use your reads (!) to assemble a genome/sequence (de novo). Then - how long would the sequence be? => use this as the parameter.
Ergo - in a nice world - if you sequence...
...genomic DNA use the genome size.
...mRNA use the transcriptome size (count only one gene variant per locus)
... and so on

Sounds somehow easy - but a 'near to correct' estimate seems - to me - hard to get in some cases... are the reads only from the type of nucleic acid you were interested in? I guess this is often not the case...
as an example - mRNA-seq with amplified material (poly-A or random priming):
=> origin of reads:
DNAse digest not 100% efficient (what is normally the case):
the expected length of the assembled sequence would increase (genomic contamination).
=> systematic coverage bias:
3' bias (for poly-A priming):
the expected length of the assembled sequence would drop (in some cases dramatically).
=> coverage in general:
assume you have reads of totally 1 gigabases from human genomic DNA. Using the human genome size would not be a good idea as you are not able to assemble 2.900.000.000 bases with 1 gigabases. And also 1 giga is not a good estimate as you would not expect a continuous coverage of 1.

Hm - for smallRNAs in your 'human'-case I guess that you would have to think about where your reads (! this is equal to small RNAs if you are sure that all reads are coming from small RNAs) could come from and use the size of this sequence.

However... I don't dare to give an estimate
and anyway: it's called estimate ^^

added later on:
From the bioscope manual (why don't they write this inside the SAET readme?):
'The expected length of the assembled sequence, for example: 4,600,000
for E.coli, 4.6 Mb genome, or 30,000,000 for Whole Human Transcriptome.'

So seems that I was not completely wrong...

I just still don't know what for the parameter is used during the correction...
checked SAET run with refLength = 120'000'000 compared to 13'000'000.
Number of changed reads:
refLength = 120'000'000: 19'703'256
refLength = 13'000'000: 23'926'281
total reads: 43'740'114
=> the parameter is definitely used in the calculation...
via taking into account the probability of random read-overlaps? or changed seedlength?

Anyone knows?

Last edited by schmima; 07-20-2010 at 03:00 AM. Reason: adding something
schmima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2010, 09:15 AM   #9
poisson200
Member
 
Location: united kingdom

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 63
Default Re-open the SAET debate

From the Bioscope 1.3 manual;
"The set of such trusted k-mers approximates the set of all k-mers in the
genome".....So

If I understand SAET, it is looking for K-mers that don't exist in a population of K-mers and corrects them (because they are not trusted)?

If you are working with reads from a genome or transcriptome, from a model species, that is going to be close to complete (like human or mouse); Why not use the transcriptome or genome to generate the model kmers?

It possibly could be this option, saet.outspecbin=1

Has anyone tried this? I am about to and not sure whether it is
a) possible
b) should I convert base space genome to colourspace
poisson200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 07:38 PM   #10
golharam
Member
 
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 55
Default

Is SAET still available on solidsoftwaretools? I don't seem to have access to it anymore.
golharam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 11:37 PM   #11
schmima
Member
 
Location: Zürich

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 56
Default

Yes - but it's within the denovo2 package which you can download at:

http://solidsoftwaretools.com/gf/project/denovo/frs/
schmima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 09:54 AM   #12
jbdorr
Junior Member
 
Location: Brazil

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Default download denovo

denovo2 doesnt exist in the solid software tools page (http://solidsoftwaretools.com/gf/project/denovo/frs/).

can downloaded of my Master's Degree Page www.inf.ufpr.br/jbdorr/denovo2.tgz
jbdorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
abi, saet

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO