SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bowtie2 mapping and paired-end reads westeros Bioinformatics 3 03-22-2014 01:02 AM
How to count number of mapped paired-end and single-end rna-seq reads repinementer Bioinformatics 8 01-06-2013 05:06 AM
Tophat/Bowtie2 inconsistency in number of paired reads BenLerch RNA Sequencing 0 07-14-2012 11:52 AM
Bfast alignement with paired end reads in separate files david.tamborero Bioinformatics 2 11-29-2011 07:49 AM

Old 03-19-2014, 06:20 AM   #1
jesstilla

Default different number of sequences in a paired end alignement with Bowtie2?

Hello,

I am very new to using Bowtie2, and would love some help!

I am hoping to do a paired end alignment. I had the same number of sequences in each file originally. First, I did a quality trim using FASTX to remove low quality sequence at the end. Then, when I try to do my paired end alignment, I get an error message saying that I had a different number of sequences in the two files. I'm guessing that perhaps one (or more) of my sequences was of a low quality all the way through and removed altogether...?

What is the best way around this problem? Is there an option in Bowtie2 to deal with an unequal number of sequences?

Thanks so much!
jesstilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 06:23 AM   #2
dpryan
Devon Ryan

Just use a different read trimmer, for example trimmomatic or trim_galore. Fastx tools are known to cause problems like this.
dpryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 06:33 AM   #3
westerman
Rick Westerman

Quote:
Originally Posted by jesstilla View Post
What is the best way around this problem? Is there an option in Bowtie2 to deal with an unequal number of sequences?