SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Applications Forums > RNA Sequencing

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
using Cuffdiff with biological replicates Jane M RNA Sequencing 0 09-01-2011 01:42 AM
overdispersion and biological replicates shilez Bioinformatics 3 08-29-2011 08:43 AM
overdispersion and biological replicates shilez RNA Sequencing 0 08-25-2011 07:10 PM
cuffdiff with biological replicates PFS Bioinformatics 1 06-14-2011 07:51 PM
Inconsistency between biological replicates Nicholas_ Bioinformatics 1 04-06-2011 04:18 AM

Old 10-01-2010, 02:20 PM   #1
hypatia

Default DEG for paired samples, biological replicates

Hi.
I am new to the seq world, although with experience in microarray aand teh omic world.

I want to know which program is available to compare RNA seq data when you have biological replicates and paired samples. I have samples for 3 patients, 2 samples each, control and lesion. I have being playing with cufflinks but not sure if it does handle this kind of experimental design.
hypatia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 09:19 AM   #2
Cole Trapnell

Cuffdiff now supports replicates, so it should handle this sort of setup
Cole Trapnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 02:02 AM   #3
Simon Anders

Cole, if cufflinks can handle paired samples, I'd be really impressed, but I wonder if you simply were to fast with your reply and overlooked the fact that the question was about paired samples. If not, please correct me.

For readers unfamiliar with the issue, a quick reminder of text-book knowledge with an example for a paired t test:
Imagine you have 5 sample, for which you measure some quantitative trait before and after a certain treatment. Let's say this trait varies according to a normal distribution and the data looks like this

Code:
                    S1    S2    S3    S4    S5
before treatment  4.00  7.30 11.13  8.50  9.50
after treatment   4.72  8.44 12.04  9.66 10.65