SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using MAQ to simulate illumina pair-end reads yjx1217 Bioinformatics 0 10-27-2011 08:38 AM
dwgsim to simulate Illumina reads gene coder Bioinformatics 1 07-07-2011 09:51 AM
MAQ simulated read header names MBekritsky Bioinformatics 0 11-18-2010 06:46 PM
Too many reads mapping towards intronic region sanush SOLiD 6 04-14-2010 03:23 AM
Too many reads mapping towards intronic region sanush RNA Sequencing 1 04-13-2010 10:10 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2011, 11:40 AM   #1
gprakhar
Member
 
Location: India

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 73
Default Simulated reads mapping to same region - maq simulate & dwgsim

Hello,

I have written a CNV Simulator, which takes fasta(eg. chr22 from hg18, repeat masked, all 'N' removed) file as input and inserts CNV at random locations.
I then generate reads using maq simulate.
To achieve a coverage of around 20x.
I give,
maq simulate -d 200 -N 2466490 -1 75 -2 75 sim_read1.out sim_read2.out chr22_sim_ref_fi.fa simupar.dat

After generation of reads and Alignment by BFAST, to verify I wrote a perl script to bin the sam file into 5kb windows and calculate how many reads map to each window.
I find that most(>95%) of the read are mapping to only the last window.

I read the man page, still not very clear about few issues.
If I specify the parameters for simulate, is it necessary to provide the .dat file?
If yes, then what kind of fastq file should I train simutrain on?
Also the man page mentions that there is a .dat file available for download, but I am not able to find it.
I have also tried with dwgsim now, the same problem occurs, all reads mapping to the last window.

Can anyone point out what I am doing wrong.

Thanking you,
Prakhar Gaur
gprakhar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 03:26 PM   #2
gprakhar
Member
 
Location: India

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 73
Default

Tried with chr18.fa from hg18.
I am getting the same results, almost all reads mapping to the same region.

$dwgsim -d 200 -1 75 -2 75 chr18.fa out.bwa.read1.fq out.bwa.read2.fq out.bfast.fq
then used Bfast.
gprakhar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 11:12 PM   #3
gprakhar
Member
 
Location: India

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 73
Default

There is No issue with maq simulate or dwgsim.
It was my mistake which caused the problem.
The Perl pipeline was faulty.

Sorry for any inconvenience caused.
--
Prakhar Gaur
gprakhar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.